2020 Nu Rho Psi Member Meeting & Social

UPDATE: Nu Rho Psi’s first virtual Member Meeting & Social was a success! Thank you to everyone who was able to attend and congratulations to this year’s award winners (see below). We would also like to announce the 2021-2022 National Theme, voted on by those in attendance at the member meeting: The Neuroscience of Identity and Bias.

For those of you who weren’t able to attend, please enjoy the following recording of the event…

Whether you are a current member of Nu Rho Psi or interested learning more about the neuroscience honor society, please plan to attend our virtual member meeting and social via Zoom from 7:00PM to 8:30PM (EST). on Thursday, October 22nd. Our goal is to have at least one representative from each chapter.

In line with our 2020-2021 Annual Theme – The Gut-Brain Connection, or keynote speaker will be Susan Erdman, DVM, MPH, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Erdman’s research focuses on the influences of the gut microbiome on cancer, the brain, behavior and cognition. Following the her brief presentation, there will be a brief question and answer period.

In preparation for this opportunity for questions and answers, we have posted a related TEDx Talk by Professor Erdmand and links to research publications and other resources related to the 2020-2021 Annual Theme: CLICK HERE.

During the virtual meeting we will recognize the 2020-2021 recipients of various awards and grants:

  • 2020 Chapter of the Year Award
    • Georgia State University
    • SUNY Old Westbury and Rutgers University (Honorable Mentions)
  • 2020 Outstanding Faculty member of the Year
    • Leslie Stone-Roy, PhD, Colorado State University
  • 2020 Outstanding Student Member of the Year
    • Janavi Ramesh, BS/MS, Georgia State University
  • 2020-2021 Chapter Activity Grant Awards
    • Lake Forest College
    • Loras College
    • Georgia State University
    • SUNY Old Westbury
  • 2020-2021 Undergraduate Research Grant Awards
    • Kelly Coakley, Regis University (Mentor: James Maniscalco)
    • Nicolai “Nic” Peña, University of Arizona (Mentor: Daniela Zarnescu)
    • Carris Borland, Lake Forest University (Mentor: Shubhik DebBurman)
    • Nitheyaa Shree, Georgia State University (Mentor: Angela Mabb)
    • Aviva Gars, Georgia State University (Mentor: Nancy Forger)
  • 2020-2021 Andrew G. Mickley Award
    • Jordan Nowlin, North Central College (Mentor: Michael Stefanik)
  • 2019-2020 Regional Conference Poster Award
    • Jordyn Hurly, Northeastern University (Advisor: Teniel Ramikie)

We are also seeking input from the membership to launch other member initiatives, to choose the topic of the 2021-2022 Annual Theme, and to identify other means to best serve the membership and advance the goals of the honor society society.